Signers of the U.S. Constitution

Start Your Visit With

Historical Timelines
Chronological Eras
Information Tables
General Interest Maps
History Quizzes

Travel and History Blog

Follow OregonCoastMag on Twitter



Delegates from 12 states (Rhode Island didn't send a delegation) met in Philadelphia in 1787 to draft a new constitution. The resulting document was signed by 39 of the 55 delegates on September 17, 1787. William Jackson also signed the document as secretary of the convention in attestation of the document's validity.

John Adams and Thomas Jefferson did not attend because they were overseas on diplomatic missions. Samuel Adams and Patrick Henry did not attend because they did not see a need for the change.

Jonathan Dayton at the age of 26 was the youngest person to sign, while Benjamin Franklin, at age 81, was the oldest to sign the Constitution as he had been the oldest to (1026:sign the Declaration of Independence] a decade earlier.


New Hampshire


Connecticut New York New Jersey Pennsylvania Delaware Maryland North Carolina South Carolina Georgia

Rhode Island, one of the original 13 colonies, did not immediately sign the Constitution of the United States (Text), but did so three years later and became a state in 1790. See United States Constitution.
*The streets of Madison, Wisconsin, are named after the signers.

- - - Books You May Like Include: ----

Alexander Hamilton, American by Richard Brookhiser.
The man on the $10 bill is probably the most overlooked Founding Father. This book--not a names-and-dates biography, but an appreciation and assessmen...