National Security Act of 1947

Start Your Visit With

Historical Timelines
Chronological Eras
Information Tables
General Interest Maps
History Quizzes

Travel and History Blog

Follow OregonCoastMag on Twitter


The National Security Act of 1947 established a National Military Establishment headed by a Secretary of Defense with three executive departments. The Department of War became the Department of the Army. Congress made the army air forces a separate service under a new Department of the Air Force. The navy and marine corps continued under the Department of the Navy. The law also established the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Munitions Board, and Research and Development Board, within the new organization.

The Secretary of Defense became a member of the Cabinet in place of the secretaries of the military services. He exercised general direction of his agency. The secretaries of the Army, Navy and Air Force administered their own departments.

Off-site search results for "National Security Act of 1947"...

Social Security Act of 1935
... of the Revenue Act of 1926 and the provisions of section 607 of the Revenue Act of 1934, shall, insofar as applicable and not inconsistent with the provisions of this title, be applicable with respect to the taxes imposed by this title. (d ...

Appendix A: Labor Management Relations Act of 1947 (Taft-Hartley Act)
... an amendment to the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) of 1932, was passed in 1947 to restore a more balanced relationship between labor and management. It gives employees the right to refrain from participating in union activities and adds ...

Taft-Hartley Act- 1947
... this Act, if such expression contains no threat of reprisal or force or promise of benefit. "(d) . . . That where there is in effect a collective-bargaining contract covering employees in an industry affecting commerce, the duty to bargain ...