Tariff of 1890

Start Your Visit With

Historical Timelines
Chronological Eras
Information Tables
General Interest Maps
History Quizzes

Travel and History Blog

Follow OregonCoastMag on Twitter



The Republicans chose to interpret the election of Benjamin Harrison as President in 1888 as a mandate to create higher tariffs. The tariff bill of 1890 was sponsored by Republican Senator William McKinley of Ohio. The measure gained support from seemingly unlikely sources: Western and Southern Democrats. This was thanks to a bargain between these regional forces to support protectionism in return for cooperation on the Sherman Silver Purchase Act.

The final version of the tariff gave a small nod to reform by adding a few items to the free (not taxed) list. Taxes on alcohol and tobacco were reduced. Bounties were given to sugar growers and for the first time a reciprocity agreement was included. However, many more were subject to higher rates. The result was the highest protective tariff in American history to that point with an average rate of 48 percent.

President Benjamin Harrison successfully persuaded his fellow Republicans to support provisions in the law in order to establish reciprocity.

The McKinley Tariff was truly onerous and led to a sharp rise in the prices of many products. Many who had supported the Tariff of 1890 were defeated at the polls in 1892.

What is a tariff? Also see tariff table summary.

Off-site search results for "Tariff of 1890"...

Tariff of 1816
  Ohio Historical Society, 2005, "Tariff of 1816", Ohio History Central: An Online Encyclopedia of Ohio History.   Search Visit Other Ohio Historical Society Sites Ohio History Ohio Kids Ohio Teachers Ohio Pix Ohio Memory   Choose your text size ...

ASD Tariffs
2   TERMINAL RAILWAY TASD Rail Terminal Tariff No. 8017-Supplement 64 Please read our Tariff Disclaimer    ASPA Berth Application (PDF) On-line ASPA Berth Application. Results will be emailed to ASPA. Vehicle Decal Application ...

Florida Constitutional Amendments of 1890
The members of the House of Representatives shall be elected for terms of two years, and the members of the Senate shall be elected for terms of four years, (except as hereafter provided) the elections for members of the Senate and House of ...